Notes about submissions to the Tararua District Plan

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      Mike McGavin

Hello.

Following on from some earlier posts in this forum, I’ve just spent the last several evenings trying to read the most boring document in the world, which is a 390 page pdf of scanned and non-indexed submissions to the Tararua District Plan, much of which comes from power companies. I’m not an expert at interpreting this kind of thing but I do like the idea of dragging others into the same descending pit of boredom that I’ve entered, so I thought I’d repeat some of it here for everyone’s interest. If anyone wants to chip in with more and/or better informed insight, I’d welcome it.

For those who don’t know, the Tararua District is *not* the Tararua Range as such. It covers the land approximately to the east of Palmerston North and out towards the coast. It’s of particular interest to power companies because it’s a great place for wind generation, and is already the site of several wind farms on both the Tararua and Ruahine foothills. There’s also a lot of interest in extending the wind farms and building lots more, and this is interesting from a tramping club point of view because it could potentially affect some of the area that surrounds the Tararua and Ruahine ranges. The District Plan (currently being considered) is important for this because it defines what processes and consultation have to be followed to get resource consents, or in some cases resource consents might not even be needed.

Keep in mind that this is *not* about building 200 metre high wind turbines along Sawtooth Ridge in the middle of conservation land (yet, anyway), at least as far as I can tell… although if anyone knows better I’d like to know. I guess a change of government might potentially change DOC’s priorities in certain government-owned lands, but I don’t know if that’s really an issue right at the moment.