Wairarapa-Wellington coastal track

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      ?amonn

Anyone know where I can get information on this track. It’s on the topo maps but is it passable all the way around? I’d say it’s a very doable day walk for anyone EM up, perhaps even easy. Looks quite flat anyway. Anyone?

• #18092 Reply
      Mike

Hi Eamonn.

Do you mean from Western Bay Road near Lake Ferry around the southern end of the Orongorongos towards Eastbourne?

I’ve no idea from experience, but looking in a couple of forums, such as http://www.vorb.org.nz/ftopicp-1955111.html , it sounds like there are definitely private land issues. It also sounds as if you shouldn’t get your hopes up if you ever want to take a mountain bike there, incidentally, but maybe walking would be okay.

The GWRC’s web-page for East Harbour Regional Park ( http://www.gw.govt.nz/section400.cfm ) states you can contact the park ranger for adjacent landowner details, so it might be worth starting there. Contact details are at http://www.gw.govt.nz/section612.cfm

Mike.

• #18093 Reply
      harry

I’ve been around there a number of times in the past, both walking and by bike. There’s a four wheel drive track all the way and it’s an excellent walk or bike ride with great coastal scenery. There is also a series of old raised beaches at Cape Turakirae which are interesting if you’re interested in geology and landforms. The track crosses a large shingle fan just beyond Barney’s Whare which could be a bit tiring on a bike but otherwise it’s completely straightforward.

The problem is getting permission from Orongorongo Station, which runs from the Orongorongo River around to Windy Point, just before the Mukamukaiti Stream. Beyond there is a different landowner and access doesn’t seem to be a problem.