Beginner Information

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Benjamin

Hey everyone, I am fairly new to tramping and only done 1 very small tramp in the past, I’m looking to use this to try and meet new people. I am currently aged 21 and just wondering how many others are around this age before I look further into joining. Also any information about where to start as a beginner would be amazing. Thanks everyone for your time

• #90703 Reply
      President

Kia ora Benjamin,

Thanks for reaching out!
      A good starting point is to check the Trips page: https://wtmc.org.nz/trips
      At the top of the page you’ll find some useful links about the gear you might need, and what’s involved with going on a club trip.
      If you have any further questions please email .

You’ll also find us on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WTMCNZ

Cheers
      Anne

• #90731 Reply
      HeatherG

Kia ora Benjamin. And the Wednesday club nights are open to the public/potential newbies too. That’s how I joined. I bowled along one Wednesday (several years ago) and was welcomed from the moment I stepped through the door – the club had the wonderful and welcoming Garth on the door that night. (I’m sure other wonderful and welcoming club members have stepped into Garth’s boots. RIP Garth).

I remember my first club night clearly. I sat in the car and hummed and harred before going in (being on my own). But plucked the courage and walked on in. I quickly learnt the gist of how the club operated, how trips are run, how to sign up for trips, the purpose of the Wednesday social evenings, what gear the club has available to loan etc. Yes, I joined and went on to help as a committee member.