Rubbish Disposal

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Steve Reese

Hi, my name is Steve. I am an industrial design student attending my final year at the Massey University School of Design in Wellington. Being quite a keen tramper myself, I have decided to base the subject of my major project on addressing the problems relating to the disposal of rubbish while tramping. Here I present a few minor questions relating to the subject. Your expertise would be much appreciated.

Don’t worry, it will only take a few minutes (if that), and I re-assure you that the information you provide is anonymous and confidential, and shall be used for research purposes only. :-)

At this early stage in the project, I am doing a bit of ground research, attempting to analyse existing strategies and products. Being an enthusiastic tramper myself, I realise that any experienced tramper would take out any rubbish they took in with themselves as the environmental code of conduct produced by the Department of Conservation would state. I would like to ask you a few questions regarding this issue.

1) Do you find the removal of your rubbish in this manner –
      a) Very convenient
      b) Convenient
      c) Indifferent
      d) Inconvenient
      e) Very Inconvenient

2) If a new method of rubbish disposal was devised, would you be
      happy to use it? (comments?)

3) Would you like to see a new method of rubbish disposal
      developed? (comments?)

4) Why do you believe people may be tempted to litter?

5) Where do you believe people may be most attempted to litter? eg.
      Department of Conservation Huts, Resting spots on tracks,
      Lookouts etc.

Thank you very much for you time, this will aid in my reasearch greatly. I again stress that this information will be used for research purposes only and will remain confidential. I would like to keep in touch with the WT&MC club throughout my project, and will keep you informed as to where I am heading.